top of page

Back to (design) school

Updated: Nov 10, 2020

Hello reader,


welcome to my journal. It started as a part of my 1st year final project assignment at Dublin Institute of Design, where I study HND in Fashion Design.

I hate writing, but I decided to keep it going, in order to:

a) Record and share my thoughts on fashion, ethics and sustainability.

b) Record my learnings.



How did it all start?


I wanted to surf more, change my life-style, do what makes more sense to me, have quit my job in Google in January 2015.

In November 2016, I have launched Loved & Upcycled. A small eco-brand making bags & laptop cases out of up-cycled neoprene, bike-tubes, kites and sails.

The whole business idea was an accident - literally; I damaged my brand new wetsuit while surfing. I did not want to throw it away, so I made a laptop case out of it. It stroke a cord with me, so I got researching. Having no experience with sewing or designing I teamed up with a talented seamstresses and designers in Sligo, Donegal and Dublin and made a first collection of bags and laptop cases.

One year into the existence of the business, I felt, that I can't carry on without being able to design and make myself, so I decided to go back to school.


From well paid job to being a student again...it's been the best decision I've made in my entire adult life!





13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page